Mt. Hood Meadows logo
Search

Meadows Joins Ski Areas Nationally for World's Largest Lesson Record Attempt

Categories: Guest Connection Tech Talk Media Center

Participants celebrate their record setting achievement at Mt. Hood MeadowsMt. Hood Meadows will join ski areas from across the country and Canada to set a Guinness World Record for the most people learning to ski and snowboard at one time. Friday, January 6 is the designated day where thousands of people across the country will take their first lesson at their local ski area.

All lessons will take place simultaneously in seven different time zones - 9 am Alaska time, 10 am Pacific time, 11 am Mountain time, 12 noon Central time, 1 pm Eastern time. Canadian resorts will also host events on January 6, via the Canadian Ski Council. as part of the country's Never Ever Days program.

Meadows is offering a ski or snowboard lesson package that includes lift ticket, two hour lesson and equipment rentals for just $20. Those who want to participate in setting the record can be as young as six years old.

Those participating must register online in advance by Wednesday, January 4.

Register Here

If you are a BEGINNER, help us set a World Record for the LARGEST Ski and the LARGEST Snowboard Lessons ever taught. Everyone had fun last year. THAT's the important thing!

Video from last year's event

Ski and Snowboard School Director Chris Kastner says, “This is the perfect opportunity for anyone who has never skied or snowboarded before to learn a new life-long sport. We expect this will be very popular and encourage those interested to register early to take advantage of this great price and be part of something big!”

Information and registration for a Meadows' lesson can be found on the resort website SkiHood.com/WLL

This is not one giant lesson, but many group lessons all taking place at 10 AM local time at ski areas across the country. This World Record event is brought to you by the organizers of the Learn to Ski and Snowboard Initiative, the National Ski Areas Association, Professional Ski Instructors of America-American Association of Snowboard Instructors, SnowSports Industries America, the National Ski Patrol, many state and regional resort associations and SNOW Operating.